ORDER RESPECTING THE SWEARING IN OF THE ANGAJUKKÂK AND COUNCILLORS OF THE FIRST INUIT COMMUNITY GOVERNMENTS

Whereas each of the Inuit Communities of Nain, Hopedale, Makkovik, Postville and Rigolet ceases to be a municipality under the *Municipalities Act*, 1999, on the first date upon which the Inuit Community Council for the Inuit Community takes office in accordance with the *Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement Act*; and

Whereas the *Elections Act* does not provide clearly and specifically for the swearing in of the first AngajukKâk and the first Inuit Community Councils following the first election of the Inuit Community Governments; and

Whereas it is desirable that the transition from the municipalities under the *Municipalities Act*, 1999, take place when all necessary transitional arrangements have been completed,

NOW THEREFORE the First Minister of Nunatsiavut, acting on the advice of the Nunatsiavut Executive Council, is pleased to issue the following Order:

Short Title

1.

This Order may be cited as the Inuit Community Governments Commencement Order, 2006.

Authority

2.

These regulations are made under subsection 141(3) and 150(c) of the Nunatsiavut Elections Act.

Interpretation

3.

Unless the context otherwise requires, terms used in these regulations have the same meaning as in the *Nunatsiavut Elections Act* and the *Municipalities Act*, 1999, SNL 1999 c. M-24.

Swearing in of AngajuKaat

4.

The AngajukKâk shall be sworn into office by the President of Nunatsiavut at the sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly to be held in Hopedale on the day of October, 2006.

Swearing in of Councilors

The Inuit Community Councilors for each Inuit Community Government shall be sworn into office by the Angajukak for the Inuit Community as soon as practicable following the sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly referred to in section 5 and in any event no later than the day of October, 2006.