



May 20, 2022 For Immediate Release

## First Minister, Executive Council, Speaker selected

Members of the Nunatsiavut Assembly have elected Tony Andersen, an Ordinary Member for Nain, to serve as First Minister of Nunatsiavut, and a new Executive Council and Speaker was appointed during the first sitting of the fifth session of the Nunatsiavut Assembly today in Hopedale.

The First Minister oversees the running of the Nunatsiavut Executive Council, and acts as the Minister of the Department of Nunatsiavut Affairs, responsible for:

- (a) implementation of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement;
- (b) the administration of justice and the legal services required by the Nunatsiavut Government;
- (c) eligibility and enrolment of Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement;
- (d) the management of Nunatsiavut Government public property; and
- (e) housing for Inuit.

Both the President and First Minister sit as members of the Nunatsiavut Executive Council. Other members of the NEC include:

Minister	Constituency	Portfolio
Tom Evans	Makkovik	Finance, Human Resources and Information Technology
Terry Vincent	Hopedale	Lands and Natural Resources
Gerald Asivak	Goose Bay	Health and Social Development
Melva Williams	Rigolet	Education and Economic Development
Roxanne Barbour	Nain	Language, Culture and Tourism

Following the swearing-in of all newly-elected and re-elected Ordinary Members, the First Minister and the NEC, Assembly Members reaffirmed President Johannes Lampe's nomination of Bryan Winters, an Ordinary Member for the Constituency of Canada, as Speaker. Roland Saunders, an Ordinary Member for the Constituency of Canada, will serve as Deputy Speaker.

## **Media Contact:**

Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications (709) 896-8582

25 Ikajuktauvik Road, PO Box 70, Nain, NL, Canada AOP 1L0 Toll Free: 1.866.922.2942 Fax: 709.922.1040