



March 5, 2024 For Immediate Release

New appointments to Nunatsiavut Executive Council

The Nunatsiavut Executive Council (NEC) has two new Ministers. David Dicker Jr. and Roxanne Barbour, both Ordinary Members for the Constituency of Nain, were respectively appointed as Ministers of the Department of Language, Culture, and Tourism, and the Department of Education and Economic Development, during a sitting of the Nunatsiavut Assembly today in Hopedale.

This will be Mr. Dicker's first time serving as a member of the NEC, after being elected as Ordinary Member for Nain during a by-election last month. It's the second time for Ms. Barbour being appointed to the NEC, after previously serving as Minister of Language, Culture and Tourism. The two will take over portfolios that had previously been vacated.

"Both have demonstrated unwavering commitment to serving the people of Nain and Nunatsiavut as a whole, and I welcome the positive impact they will bring to their new positions and to the Nunatsiavut Executive Council," says Nunatsiavut President Johannes Lampe.

Media Contact:

Bert Pomeroy Director of Communications (709) 896-8582 bert.pomeroy@nunatsiavut.com