The Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve was officially established as Canada’s 46th national park with the July 31, 2015 signing of a federal/provincial Land Transfer Memorandum of Agreement. The traditional names of what is now the largest national park in Eastern Canada are Akami-Uapishkᵁ, an Innu word meaning “white mountains across”, and KakKasuak, a Labrador Inuit word for mountain.

The Nunatsiavut Government is seeking interest from Beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement to sit as a member of the Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve Co-operative Management Board.

As a representative of the Nunatsiavut Government, Board members directly impact park management decisions, ensuring sustainable practices and conservation efforts, as well as contribute valuable Inuit traditional knowledge. Board members must be available to attend all meetings (in-person and virtually).


  • Knowledge of traditional practices related to land use, wildlife, and conservation.
  • Experience in governance, committee work, or board participation.
  • Effective communication skills and a willingness to collaborate.

How to Apply:
Interested individuals are asked to submit a letter and resume to Isabella Pain, Secretary of the Nunatsiavut Government Executive Council by email at [email protected].

The deadline to submit your resume is May 6, 2024.

EOI – Mealy Mountains National Park Co-operative Management Board